Skip to content
Talk to Sales

    Required California Harassment Prevention Training Latest Updates

    What type of training is required? Who is required to provide and complete the training? And what does this mean for your production?

    California law currently mandates that California-based supervisory employees employed by large employers (those with 50+ employees in and outside of California) are required to complete 2 hours of sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training within 6 months of hire or within 6 months of being promoted into a managerial position, and to be trained every 2 years thereafter.

    California SB 1343 and SB 778 require that non-supervisory employees employed by large employers, as well as all employees employed by small employers (employers with five or more employees in California), also need to complete sexual harassment and abusive conduct prevention training and retrained once every two years thereafter. Trainings must include questions that assess the understanding and application of content, and hypothetical scenarios about harassment with discussion questions as well as practical examples of harassment based on gender identity, gender expression, and sexual orientation.

    Employers must retain a record of all employees’ training for a minimum of two years.

    Employers must also provide employees with a poster or fact sheet developed by the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing regarding Sexual Harassment, or equivalent information.

    Who is considered an employee under California’s Department of Fair Employment and Housing regulations?

    The definition of “employee” for training purposes includes full-time, part-time, and temporary employees, unpaid interns, unpaid volunteers, and persons providing services pursuant to a contract (independent contractors).

    As of January 1st, 2021, if an employee is hired to work for less than six months, they must be trained within 30 calendar days from when they begin working or 100 hours of work, whichever occurs first. Only employees located in California are required to be trained, but all employees, including independent contractors, volunteers, or unpaid interns, located inside and outside of California are counted to determine whether employers are covered under the Act.

    What’s the difference between a supervisory employee and a non supervisory employee?

    • Supervisory employees include anyone with authority to hire, fire, assign, transfer, discipline, or reward other employees, or anyone with the authority to effectively recommend (but not necessarily take) these actions if exercising that authority requires the use of independent judgment. Supervisory employees must complete at least two hours of training within six months of their assumption of a position, either by hire or by promotion.
    • Non supervisory employees need to complete at least one hour of training within six months of their assumption of a position.

    Where can I find more information on who is qualified to provide sexual harassment prevention training and what type of training is required?

    For detailed information on who is qualified to provide sexual harassment prevention training and additional details on the type of training employers are required to provide, please review the California Department of Fair Employment and Housing’s Sexual Harassment FAQs and the Sexual Harassment Prevention Training FAQs.

    Does GreenSlate offer any sexual harassment prevention training resources?

    GreenSlate offers an in-app training module to help productions assign, manage, and track state-compliant sexual harassment prevention training.

    The mandatory sexual harassment prevention training for CA is preloaded in the app. The GreenSlate training module makes online training quick and convenient, and you can build training into your onboarding process for a seamless experience.

    For the latest news and updates, subscribe to our newsletter and blog.

    If you have experienced sexual harassment or misconduct while working in the entertainment industry and are in need of resources or support… the Women In Film Help Line is an integrated program that offers referrals to pro bono employment attorneys for callers in both California and New York State, sliding scale trauma-informed therapy, and a confidential support group. Learn more about the Women In Film Help Line.

    Last updated: 11.14.23. This information in this communication is general in nature, and is not intended, nor should it be construed, as legal, accounting, tax or other professional advice rendered by GreenSlate, LLC. The reader should contact his or her attorney, CPA, or tax professional prior to taking any action based upon this information.

    November 14, 2023

    Updated December 22, 2023

    background triangle design

    Related Posts

    Access our blog for the inside scoop on what’s happening around the production office.